Like mother, like daughter

I have a good proofreader’s eye. Typographical errors, misspellings and punctuation failures jump out at me. One of my favourite books is “Eats, Shoots and Leaves.” I have been known to correct errors on restaurant menus. (In spite of these (to some, insufferable) characteristics, I have some friends left. One or two even lend me pens to make the corrections.)

A related compulsion drove me to take a photograph of this unfortunate sign outside a dry cleaning establishment. I am not sure what was the point of possessing the photograph; the sign was too high up for me to get out my editorial pen (well, maybe a paintbrush would have been needed). But somehow I just needed to record the evidence.

Recently, I was going through some of my mother’s old photographs. As you might guess, this one appealed to me. And on the back, my mother had written, “Black, I presume.”

It seems I inherited more than my mother’s bone structure and her headaches. She also passed on some deep genetic need to correct other people’s work.

5 thoughts on “Like mother, like daughter

  1. Anmaru ~ knowing this about you makes me hesitant to comment. Is there a spell-check in the comment box?

    Okay, please explain, the photo of the Martinis menu covers up a paragraph of your post. When I try to make it disappear, it simply gets larger. What am I doing wrong?

  2. I advise you to revisit your will in order to ensure that your daughters inherit your extensive collection of red pens. The strength of this genetic trait suggests that they will need a good supply.

    PS: For some odd reason your blog is now offering a series of “Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)”. Among those suggested as being “related” to your most recent posting are a pair respectively titled “Keira Knightleys [sic] mom hits out at anorexia rumors” and “Keira Knightley’s Mother Confirms Her Daughter Is Not Anorexic”. Evidently you are teetering on the brink of becoming a celebrity journalist!

  3. Shelley: Your last sentence first: it is axiomatic that the reader of a web page doesn’t do anything wrong! It should be made easy for you.

    I did think the layout of this post might be problematic for some people, because of the size of the photos. Your difficulty reading it will be related to the browser you are using and your settings, combined with the options WordPress gives me for displaying photos. I will send you the post separately!

  4. Collective: Related posts: another WordPress improvement of dubious value!

    I shall do some soul searching, though, and consider whether celebrity journalism is my true vocation.

  5. Dear collective et al

    anmaru has probably fixed the situation you’re mentioning. It’s caused by the eagerness of SnapShot to go over this web site and suggest possible obscure and useless linkages.

    There’s an equally obscure setting that can be turned off on your SnapShot account, if you have access to your SnapShot account.

Leave a Reply

